Chakras - A Brief Introduction

Becca Anderson

Chakras – An Introduction and What You Need to Know


Have you ever thought about where you feel your emotions?

Everyone has heard the question “How does that make you feel?”, but what about “Where does that make you feel?”

When I first started on my own therapeutic journey toward wellness, this was a question my practitioner asked me often – “Where do you feel it?”

It took me longer than I would like to admit, but I finally realized that she was talking about chakras.

So, what are chakras, and why do we feel them?

Chakras are energy centers.

There are seven chakras within the body:


  1. Root Chakra
  2. Sacral Chakra
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra
  4. Heart Chakra
  5. Throat Chakra
  6. Third Eye Chakra
  7. Crown Chakra


Just like all other things in the world, we humans have energy flowing through our bodies. When this energy flows freely within the body, we feel a sense of calm and balance. However, when we experience a disruption to this energy, we feel a sense of dis-ease and discomfort. As is the case with any other ailment, learning to identify the source of the discomfort will allow us to work toward remedying it.

So, how do we identify the source of our dis-ease?

We learn to ask ourselves “Where do I feel it?”.

  • Experiencing uneasiness in the pit of your stomach? That’s your Solar Plexus Chakra.
  • Tightness and an aching in your chest? You guessed it, your Heart Chakra is looking for some love.
  • Feeling unsure of yourself, and experiencing headaches and foggy sensations? There’s a good chance that your Third Eye Chakra could use some attention.

Once we have identified where this disruption or energy blockage is manifesting within the body, we can work to eliminate the energy block and re-establish free energy flow and its accompanying sense of balance and harmony within our body.

Luckily for us, there are a few tools we can use to help us along the way.

The key to the chakras is balance.

Balance of the mind, body, and soul.

Activities such as mindfulness, meditation, and yoga are rooted in the practice of patience and taking time to reflect inwardly. Through their practice, we are required to slow down, take a breath, and recognize where our mind and body are at. By engaging in our own selves in such a way, we learn how to better connect with ourselves and how to promote our own calmness and balance.

Additionally, essential oils and gemstones stones can be introduced as a part of your routine to stimulate the chakras and promote energy flow and balance in your life.

This is why I am so excited to share my own carefully crafted Chakra line with you all!

This new line includes:

Just like all of my other creations, this chakra line has come into existence as a result of my own journey. During a time of struggle, these tools have come into my life and have provided me with comfort, direction, balance, and growth. It is my hope that, in sharing these items with you, I might help you to achieve the same.

For more information regarding The Seven Chakras, such as chakra functions, chakra healing, chakra colours, etc. provides an excellent overview for any beginner.

As always,

Live Well. Be Well.

Guide To The Chakras For Beginners And Healing Practionners. Retrieved from
Pond, D. (2016). Chakras for beginners: a guide to balancing your chakra energies. St. Paul, MN: Llewellyn Publications.
The 7 Chakras for Beginners. Retrieved from

Older Post Newer Post